FDR’s Four Freedoms

The Four Freedoms were a concept laid out in President Roosevelt’s 1941 State of the Union address, also known as the Four Freedoms speech. Roosevelt’s words came at a time of extreme American isolationism as Nazi Germany was ramsacking much of Europe. They include freedom of speech and expression, freedom of religion, freedom from want, and freedom from fear. He gives shape to the bright future he’s been talking about during his entire speech. He also provides an answer to the rhetorical question “what are we fighting for?”In the future days, which we seek to make secure, we look forward to a world founded upon four essential human freedoms. The first is freedom of speech and expression – everywhere in the world. The second is freedoms of every person to worship god in his own way – everywhere in the world. The third is freedom from want…everywhere in the world. The fourth is freedom from fear…anywhere in the world. That is no vision of a distant millennium. It is a definite basis for a kind of world attainable in our own time and generation.

Get Green New Deal News (& more) Delivered!

Join 2,000 Others With Weekly Updates on Ideas and Innovations in Progress

We hate spam probably more than you....safe place here. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Help us keep our videos FREE!

$____  $20  $50  $100  GIVE NOW

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *